Skip to main content
JUBA - 14 Nov 2018

Units set up to carry out pre-transitional period activities

South Sudan's Minister of Cabinet Affairs Martin Elia Lomuro said the National Pre-Transitional Committee (NPTC) on Wednesday set up four units to implement the provisions of the pre-transitional period.

In a press statement in Juba, Lomuro said the national committee agreed on thematic committees on administration and finance, security, governance and advocacy.

Lomuro, who is also the secretary of the NPTC, said the four units represent the parties to the revitalized peace agreement.

“The finance unit will be headed by somebody nominated by the SPLM-IO and the unit for dissemination and advocacy will be headed by a representative from SSOA. The unit for security sector implementation will be headed by the incumbent TGoNU,” he said.

“The unit for governance and legal affairs will be headed by Former Detainees. The other political parties will have the head of the secretariat who will be answerable to the secretary,” he added.  

He pointed out that the parties would submit names of their nominees to the four units for vetting on Thursday.

“We had agreed that each committee should be represented by five individuals including the head of the unit,” he said.

Lomuro noted that the budget required by the Pre-Transitional Committee will be developed by the administration and finance unit.

Under the peace deal signed in September, a new unity government will be formed after eight months.