Skip to main content
UGANDA - 1 Oct 2021

Uganda effects visa waiver for South Sudanese citizens

The government of Uganda says it is implementing a visa waiver for South Sudanese citizens entering Uganda from Friday, October 1st, 2021. 

“This is, therefore, to notify you that with effect 1st October 2021, citizens of the Republic of South Sudan will not be required to pay the Visa Entry Fee to enter into the Republic of Uganda,” Maj Gen Apollo Kasiita Gowa of the Directorate of Citizenship and Immigration Control of Uganda said on Thursday. 

Last month, the Ugandan government announced plans to waive visa entry fees for South Sudanese citizens entering Uganda in a bid to implement the decision of the 36th meeting of the Council of Ministers of the East African Community vide EAC/CM/36/94 and EAC/CM/36/95. 

The protocol on the Free Movement of Persons within the East African region will ease movement within the region.

South Sudan government is expected to reciprocate by effective the Visa waiver for Ugandan citizens entering South Sudan by end of October 2021.

In April 2016, South Sudan joined the East Africa Community which includes Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.