Skip to main content
JUBA - 19 Sep 2019

South Sudan, Kenya agree on visa-free travel

South Sudan and Kenya have agreed on visa-free travel between the two countries, government officials said.

Speaking to Radio Tamazuj on Wednesday, South Sudan’s Interior minister, Michael Chiangjiek said the two nations signed the agreement two weeks ago, adding that the pact will be implemented once the councils of ministers from both nations endorse it.

“The agreement was reached two weeks and once it is approved, our citizens will travel freely and get stamps at the airport,” he said.

Chiangjiek pointed out that the pact signed by officials from both South Sudan and Kenya will help fight crimes between the two countries.

Separately, South Sudan’s Foreign Affairs ministry spokesperson, Mawien Makol Ariik also confirmed the inked agreement, saying it will allow South Sudanese to travel to Kenya without paying for visas.

“There was a meeting between South Sudan’s Interior minister and his Kenyan counterpart to waive visas for citizens of both countries. The committee from Kenya came to Juba and signed the agreement which will commence this year,” Makol said.

South Sudan became the 6th member after joining the East African Community (EAC) in April 2016. The East African Community (EAC) is a six-member regional intergovernmental organization that brings together Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The EAC aims at widening and deepening cooperation among the partner states and other regional economic communities.