Skip to main content
JUBA - 10 May 2021

President Kiir reconstitutes national legislature

South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit
South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit

President Salva Kiir Mayardit has this evening issued a republic decree appointing members of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly as dictated by the 2018 revitalized peace agreement.

The decree comes two days after the president dissolved the national assembly and the council of states. The peace deal requires the expansion and reconstitution of the national legislature and council of states to include all signatories to the agreement. 

The appointments come a year late since the formation of the executive arm of the government, slowing down the enactment of laws and reforms as per the revitalized peace deal.

In the decree broadcast on state television on Monday evening, Kiir appointed representatives of parties to the agreement and the former transitional government which includes representatives from the National Agenda and the Democratic Change party. 

The peace deal demands that the reconstituted parliament be expanded from 400 to 550 members representative of all the parties to the agreement; the former transitional government to nominate 332 members, SPLM-IO 128 members, and the South Sudan Opposition Alliance, SSOA, to nominate 50 members. Other Political Parties (OPP) were granted 30 slots while the Former Detainees 10.

It remains unclear when the president will announce the appointment of members of the council of states, which is expected to expand from 50 to 100 members.