Skip to main content
JUBBA - 1 Apr 2020

Kiir’s group maintains position on six states

File photo: Presidential press secretary Ateny Wek
File photo: Presidential press secretary Ateny Wek

A group loyal to President Salva Kiir said it would maintain its position on taking six of the country’s 10 as the committees representing the rival parties discuss the matter.

Speaking to Radio Tamazuj on Tuesday, Kiir’s press secretary, Ateny Wek Ateny, said talks on how to divide up the country’s 10 states are still continuing.

He revealed that the committees that are working on the division of the country’s states have not yet reached any agreement.

Ateny pointed out that the SPLM-IO group led by First Vice President Riek Machar maintained its position on taking three states.

He said Kiir’s side would not give up its position, adding that it is now time for opposition parties to make concessions.

Opposition groups could not be reached for comment.

The 2018 peace agreement says responsibility sharing at state and county levels shall be 55% for incumbent TGoNU, SPLM-IO 27%, SSOA 10% and OPP 8%.

The positions that shall be shared as per the responsibility sharing formula are governors, speakers of state legislatures, state councils of ministers, state legislatures, county commissioners and county councils.

The agreement also says Former Detainees shall have three state ministers in states of their choice.