Skip to main content
JUBA - 4 Jul 2021

Kiir reconstitutes the Council of States

South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit
South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit

South Sudan's President Salva Kiir Mayardit Saturday night reconstituted the Council of States, the upper chamber of the national legislature in South Sudan.

This move completes the overhaul of the Reconstituted Transitional National Legislative Assembly R-TNLA into a functional legislature vital in the enactment of laws and reforms in the agreement. 

Representatives of all the parties to the agreement, the former transitional government, SPLM-IO, the South Sudan Opposition Alliance, SSOA, Other Political Parties (OPP), and the Former Detainees were appointed per the Revitalised Agreement on the Resolution of Conflict in South Sudan.

The Revitalized Transitional Government of National Unity (RTGONU) has been without its legislative arm since May when the two houses were dissolved.

However, the TNLA was reconstituted a week later but its members are yet to be sworn in.

The two houses should have been reconstituted more than a year ago after the announcement of the formation of the executive arm of the government.

Under the peace deal, the reconstituted Council of States would be expanded from 50 to 100 members representative of all the parties to the agreement.

The president also revoked the appointment of more than 30 ITGoNU and SSOA members to the revitalized national assembly from different states and made replacements. 

It remains unclear when members of both houses will take the oath of office.