Skip to main content
JUBA - 28 Aug 2014

Greater Juba to be split into 11 new counties

The Upper House of the National Council of States in South Sudan approved the creation of eleven counties in the greater Juba district of Central Equatoria State.

The district will be developed into 11 county administrative areas, with Juba City Council as an instituted City Municipality.

The decision was made in a sitting chaired by council speaker Joseph Bol Chan. Central Equatoria governor Clement Wani Konga was present and welcomed the move.

The chairman of the committee directing the legislation, John Masuwa Madanza, said there is a need to harmonize inter-tribal relationships in the areas for the sake of peace.

The counties are:

1 Oponi County

2 Lobonok County

3 Terekeka County

4 Rajaf County

5 Mangalla County

6 Gemeiza County

7 Gwor County

8 Tali County

9 Rokon County

10 Northern Bari County

11 Wonduruba County

Related: Proposal for ten new counties in Greater Juba, Central Equatoria

Radio Tamazuj Photo: Council speaker Joseph Bol Chan

For breaking news updates from Radio Tamazuj ‘like’ our page on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, or subscribe to our RSS feed.