Skip to main content
JUBA - 12 Sep 2017

Kiir's faction,Taban’s group finally agree on power-sharing deal in Latjor

The formation of state government in Latjor State, one of South Sudan’s newly created states, is expected to be formed as the two main coalition partners agreed on a power-sharing deal over government positions.

The two major coalition partners, SPLM faction loyal to President Kiir and SPLM-IO group allied to the First Vice President Taban Deng Gai, have been bargaining over distribution of portfolios in Latjor state for several months.

Speaking to Radio Tamazuj on Tuesday, Elijah Liech Bany, the deputy governor of Latjor State said they have finally agreed with the SPLM-IO faction to form the state government. “We in the government we have taken the ministries of local government, finance, education, information and social welfare, so these are our ministries. The opposition has taken the ministries of physical infrastructure, agriculture and health, while the other political parties took the ministry of rural development,” he said.

“At the level of counties we took three countries. The counties we took are Nassir, Malou and Piyor, while the opposition took the counties of Korou and Ulang, “he added.

The deputy governor, who represents Kiir’s group in Nasser, said the governor is expected to arrive in Juba tomorrow to announce the new cabinet.